Author Topic: "What is all the fuss!!?"  (Read 9546 times)

Positive Change

"What is all the fuss!!?"
« on: July 07, 2012, 09:12:08 AM »
I came across this interesting blog post and thought I would share it here because it relates to me as a practitioner and also the questions I myself ask. There are certain interesting points which I have highlighted. Please feel free to comment and expand on what was written below in order that we may continue to learn and absorb more!

"Why not just ask another Deity or Buddha to protect us?! I have been relying upon this Wisdom Buddha Dorje Shugden for 27 years and have felt every day his beneficial influence in my life. I'll try and give some context here to help the general reader.

According to Mahayana Buddhism there are countless Buddhas, or enlightened beings, because everyone (Buddhist or not) always has the potential to perfect their love, compassion and wisdom. The Wisdom Buddha Dorje Shugden is one Buddha among many. Some people trying to figure it out have asked me, "Why the fuss about this particular Buddha? Why not just give in to the Dalai Lama's wishes to stop the worship of this Buddha? Isn't all Buddhism the same?" This is equivalent to suggesting to a Franciscan that he stop making prayers to St. Francis. What may seem an obscure practice to others, including other Christians, is an essential part of others' faith.