Author Topic: Karma, Samsara, Nirvana & YOU  (Read 17219 times)

Helena

• Email
Karma, Samsara, Nirvana & YOU
« on: November 02, 2010, 05:51:57 PM »
In celebrating the birth of a new board for general Buddhism, I thought I'd share some of the basic elements in Buddhism.

This is for those who are truly new to Buddhism and not just Dorje Shugden.

Although I have been studying Buddhism for the last 6 years or so, I still would not dare to say that I really do understand karma, samsara, etc.

Knowing and being able to recite words from the texts such as the Lamrim (which I have seen many forum members quote from) is one thing - but truly understanding the meanings and putting them into practice is quite another. 

Personally, I am not impressed whether an individual can memorise all the texts and can quote from scriptures or churn our scholarly essays and theories on Buddhism.

I am more impressed when an individual has put in the time and effort to really put all those theories into practice and have incorporated these practices into their daily lives.

I am sure we all know - everything is a lot easier said than done.

If it were so easy - all of us would have achieved Enlightenment by now and be hanging out in some place called, Nirvana.

If it were so easy, then there should be more highly attained monks, lamas, tulkus and etc versus ordinary lay folks who like to pretend that they know more or much better than the rest.

Being well versed in the teachings and scriptures is just one aspect of Buddhism.

Translating all the essences of Buddha's teachings into daily practice is the key.

So, whether one is well acquainted with the meaning and terms of loving kindness is just a small part of it.

However, being really kind and loving towards all beings is really the heart of the Buddhism.

Therefore, to me - compassion is not a concept nor a theory.