Author Topic: "The Psychology of Tibetan Inaction (the Tortoise Gets Run Over)"  (Read 7791 times)

Ensapa

• Email
Here is an interesting perspective of CTA by a foreigner who has been staying in Dharamsala. These are what is causing CTA to fail. If they were progressive, they will see no reason to uphold the ban at all and even if they did, they would not do something really nasty to them like what they did. It seems that the Dorje Shugde practitioners are the one who is speaking up, and to not to have them in the Kashag is CTA's loss.

"The Psychology of Tibetan Inaction (the Tortoise Gets Run Over)"
Phayul[Sunday, August 19, 2012 17:12]
By Brent A Werner

Dharamsala, like all political centers, is awash in games. Nevertheless, I hope that a more mainstream audience will hear what I have to say, considering the merit of my points rather than my lack of power or prestige. For a few recent years I was a resident of Dharamsala, the husband of Tenzin Diki Werner, the son-in-law of Namse Chenmo la Phuntsok Tsering, an adoptive father to Tenzin Choedon Tsarong, and also the Father of Tenzin Sangmo Werner. I am not highly educated, nor am I a politician, but I have a Tibetan family, and I have been following the Tibetan political scene (and lack thereof) since I marched beside Takster Rinpoche in the mid 1990’s. These experiences afforded me the opportunity to come into direct and personal contact with the views of everyone from local garbage collectors, to Lodi Gyari Rinpoche, to Lhasang Tsering, to Tibetans visiting India from inside Tibet. My late wife, in her cheerful gregariousness, had a wide circle of friends. Thus, I came to a few political observations not so much through the study of books and treatises as through direct observation of various Tibetans, supplemented by news reports and a few academic books. My conclusion has been that, in order to effect a solution to the decimation, destruction, and impending disappearance of the Tibetan people, the fundament