Author Topic: demonstrations  (Read 6681 times)

lobtse

demonstrations
« on: April 25, 2008, 09:39:18 AM »
hey people!

so first i just wanted to say that i am not against people practicing dorje shugden even though i have to say i have been a student of HH Dalai Lama for a long time and do not do the practice myself. everyone should be free to do what they want. i have many friends and acquaintances who practice the protector and even some who do not are encouraged by their teachers to go to the teachings of other teachers who are well-known dorje shugden practitioners.

the whole situation is quite unfortunate all around.

i think this whole situation is SO typical of tibetan religion/politics. throughout tibetan history you have powerful teachers and sects trying to control each other, as most of you know. gedun choepel's criticism of tibetan politics and religion was excellent when he said that the two are like salt and suger- when you mix the two, are they really eadible? but i think the reaction of the general tibetan community in india shouldn't be a shock, it is totally predicable. they are in a refugee situation and it is easy for them to band together against anything they see as a threat, plus it is typical for them to do things in extremes- so for example marginalizing shugden practitioners in lay society. its like a bit of a mob mentality unfortunately.