Author Topic: Bribing a policeman, is it stealing?  (Read 10967 times)

hope rainbow

Bribing a policeman, is it stealing?
« on: October 12, 2011, 01:23:21 PM »
Just yesterday, while driving, I was stopped by a policeman for speeding.
He was going to fine me when he started talking to me in a strange way, asking me: "do you really want to pay this fine, if I fill this form it will cost you over 100 Dollars and it will go into your file". He was bluntly giving me a chance to bribe him!
This is illegal and reprehensible for me as I can be charged for bribing a policeman and illegal for the policeman of course. Never before had I come across a policeman like that and I have been driving for over 20 years (and caught a few times speeding I reckon).
The country in which I live has better standards than that! I had never seen it before, I thought this only happens in some other countries, not at home...
At first, I thought I could not do that... But then, I got tempted to get away with the scheme, so I took my wallet and opened it and in it was a note of 20 Dollars and a few more of 1 Dollar. I took the 20 Dollars bill out and moved it discreetly towards my car door, out of sight.
Before I could see it happen, the policeman took it swiftly and said: "go now, and don't let me catch you speeding again".

I have two questions:
- is this stealing?
- and should I report the incident to the authorities? For if I don't, is it lying?

Positive Change

Re: Bribing a policeman, is it stealing?
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2011, 07:59:14 AM »
Just yesterday, while driving, I was stopped by a policeman for speeding.
He was going to fine me when he started talking to me in a strange way, asking me: "do you really want to pay this fine, if I fill this form it will cost you over 100 Dollars and it will go into your file". He was bluntly giving me a chance to bribe him!